The Board of Supervisors (BOS) is the governing body of the Township. They are vested with the executive and legislative powers of the Township.

Supervisors also annually appoint various advisory boards, Township officers and employees. Board members are elected to staggered six-year terms.

BOS Job Description and Duties.wpd Final.pdf

The Supervisors can be contacted through the Township Office at 814-692-9800 or by email at

Board of Supervisors
Name & Term

David C. Piper, Chair

Ronald B. Servello, Vice-Chair

Robert W Strouse

Patricia C Hartle

Charles F. Beck

*Note: elections are held in Nov. preceding the end of the supervisor’s term.

The Board of Supervisors meets at 7:00PM on the second and fourth Thursdays of each month, except for holidays, at the Halfmoon Township Community Center, 100 Municipal Lane, in the Village of Stormstown. All meetings are open to the public.

The Halfmoon Township Board of Supervisors meetings air on C-NET, Channel 7 at the times listed below during the five days following the meeting: Saturday at 8:00 p.m. Monday at 1:00 p.m. Tuesday at 6:00 a.m. Wednesday at 1:00 am The meetings are also available to watch online at

Centre Region Council of Governments Committee appointments for 2022.  

CommitteePrimary Rep.Alt. Rep.
ExecutiveBob StrouseVacant
FinancePatti HartleVacant
Human ResourcesBob StrouseVacant
Public SafetyRon ServelloVacant
Land Use and Community Infrastructure (LUCI)Ron ServelloDave Piper
FacilitiesPatti HartleRon Servello
Climate Action & SustainabilityVacantVacant
Centre County Metropolitan Planning Organization CoordinatingBarb SpencerVacant
CCMPO TechnicalDave PiperVacant
Solar Power Purchase Agreement Working GroupBob StrouseVacant
Parks and Recreation Governance Special Committee* Citizen Hyeseon KimVacant
Spring Creek WatershedDave PiperVacant
State College Borough Water AuthorityDave PiperVacant
CNET Member to Board of DirectorsBob StrouseVacant
Upper Bald Eagle COGBob StrouseVacant
Open Space Representative Patti HartleVacant

               *indicates non-voting representative