Images from Halfmoon Township
Skip navigation links
Halfmoon Township
Contact Us
Halfmoon Township > Township Government
Skip navigation links
Halfmoon TwpExpand Halfmoon Twp
Township GovernmentExpand Township Government
Public Notices
Public WorksExpand Public Works
Parks and RecreationExpand Parks and Recreation
Emergency ServicesExpand Emergency Services
New Resident Guide
Halfmoon Township Code

 Township Government

Halfmoon Township is governed in accordance with the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Code of Laws for a Second Class Township.

Section 6 (Local Government) of Volume 115 of the Pennsylvania Manual, states that

". . . there are four general types of municipalities in Pennsylvania: counties, cities, boroughs, and townships. . ." with those in turn separated into different classes. "Each class of municipality operates under its own code of laws which sets forth the governmental structure as well as the general and specific powers of local government . . . (There are currently a) County Code, Third Class City Code, Borough Code, First Class Township Code, Second Class Township Code and Public School Code."

Halfmoon Township is defined as a Second Class Township, and is therefore governed in accordance with the PA Second Class Township Code.

"The governing body of second class townships is composed of three supervisors who are elected at-large (i.e., not affiliated with a specific region). Two additional supervisors may be elected if approved by referendum. All are elected at-large for six-year terms.

"Other elected township officials include the tax assessor, tax collector(second class), three auditors or controller, and a treasurer (first class). Appointive officers include the secretary, township manager if desired, chief of police, fire chief, engineer, solicitor and others"

Until the election of November 1995, Halfmoon Township was governed by a three-member Board of Supervisors. At that time, the township voted overwhelmingly to expand the BOS to five members. The new members were elected in November 1996 and began their terms in January 1997.